KKR Team Review IPL 2022: Know the Strength, Weakness and X Factors


The thrill of the 2022 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the world’s biggest cricket league, is starting from 26 March. The opening match of the tournament is the former champion and runner up i.e. Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders (CSK vs KKR IPL 2022 Opening Match) will be played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Shreyas Iyer, Shreyas Iyer KKR CaptainUnder the captaincy of Kolkata Knight Riders Review, Kolkata Knight Riders will try to win the title according to the slogan ‘Karbo Ladbo Jeetbo’. This team, co-owned by Bollywood king Shah Rukh Khan IPL Team and Juhi Chawla IPL Team, is a two-time champion. Let’s know about the strength, weakness, X factor and challenges of this franchise…

Also read: 5 Best App to Watch Live IPL Free 2022

‘Serious’ challenge ahead of Shreyas Iyer

The biggest pressure on Captain Shreyas Iyer (Challenges For Shreyas Iyer In IPL 2022) is to give the team success like Gautam Gambhir. Under Gambhir’s captaincy, the franchise won the title in 2012 and 2014. Since then the team changed two captains, but the team’s fortunes did not change. After leaving the captaincy of Dinesh Karthik, World Cup winning captain Ian Morgan took the lead and the team reached the final. However, they lost by 27 runs against MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings and had to be content with being the runner-up.

Previous Record of KKR

  • 2008: League Stage
  • 2009: League Stage
  • 2010: League Stage
  • 2011: Play-offs
  • 2012: Champion
  • 2013: League Stage
  • 2014: Champion
  • 2015: League Stage
  • 2016: Play-offs
  • 2017: Play-offs
  • 2018: Play-offs
  • 2019: League Stage
  • 2020: League Stage
  • 2021: Runners-up

Also read: IPL 2022 Schedule: Time Table, Venue, Team and PDF Download

KKR strength


The glut of young talent along with veterans is the biggest strength of this team. Shreyas Iyer, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Tim Southee and Pat Cummins provide experience, while match-winners like Venkatesh Iyer, Baba Indrajit, Shivam Mavi and Varun Chakravarthy are also in the team. Captain Shreyas Iyer has been in terrific form. They know how to run the game. Spin all-rounder Sunil Narine has always been the match winner of this team. He performed brilliantly in the BPL final and proved that he is effective despite not playing international cricket. If the power of all-rounder Venkatesh and Russell is shown, then the team can win in any match.

Also read: Delhi Capitals IPL 2022 Full Review

KKR Weakness

The opening looks a bit weak due to the absence of Shubman Gill. The experienced Ajinkya Rahane and Aaron Finch are available as substitutes for the opening with Venkatesh Iyer, but their recent form has not been very good. Sunil Narine and Nitish Rana can also be the option of opening, but the system will become improvised. KKR and captain Shreyas Iyer will have to break it. KKR don’t have any fast bowler other than Tim Southee and Pat Cummins.

Captain Shreyas Iyer is X-Factor

The franchise has appointed Team India’s swashbuckling batsman Shreyas Iyer as the captain of the team. He is the same captain who gave life to the Delhi Capitals team after Gautam Gambhir stepped down. Like Rohit Sharma, he also hails from Mumbai and knows how to bring out the best from a player. The happiest thing for the franchise is that Iyer has been in terrific form. In the T20 series against Sri Lanka, no bowler could get him out. He had scored 3 consecutive unbeaten half-centuries. If his bat continues to spew runs like this, then there is no doubt that the team can appear in the top of the points table.

Kolkata Knight Riders Full Schedule (KKR 2022 Full Schedule)

26 MarchChennai Super KingsWankhede Stadium7.30 PM
30 MarchRoyal Challengers BangaloreDY Patil Stadium7.30 PM
01 AprilPunjab KingsWankhede Stadium7.30 PM
06 AprilMumbai IndiansMCA Stadium, Pune7.30 PM
10 AprilDelhi CapitalsCCI3.30 PM
15 AprilSunrisers HyderabadCCI7.30 PM
18 AprilRajasthan RoyalsCCI7.30 PM
23 AprilGujarat TitansDY Patil Stadium3.30 PM
28 AprilDelhi CapitalsWankhede Stadium7.30 PM
02 MayRajasthan RoyalsWankhede Stadium7.30 PM
07 MayLucknow Super GiantsMCA Stadium, Pune7.30 PM
09 MayMumbai IndiansDY Patil Stadium7.30 PM
14 MaySunrisers HyderabadMCA Stadium, Pune7.30 PM
18 MayLucknow Super GiantsDY Patil Stadium7.30 PM

Source link